DONE!

I graduated high school! I’m so excited to start the next chapter of my life in New York City. When I was writing a blog on High School Musical in 4th grade, I don’t think I ever imagined it would turn into something I love doing at 18, or something I would go on to study in college (journalism, that is, not HSM — although I would totally be down to analyze Zac Efron professionally).

Obviously I've been a tastemaker since birth

Obviously I’ve been a tastemaker since birth

That being said, I’ve talked a lot of shit about high school, but at the end of the day, I know in the deepest depths of my blackened heart that I did okay, and that EVERYTHING IS AWESOME!!!!!

Here’s my little collection of favorite things:

Life After Beth LOOKS DOPE AS HELL

“But judging people on the things that makes them happy doesn’t make your interests any more legit, and none of that snootiness made me feel as good as I do when I listen to One Direction and throw all my joy in the air and dance underneath it, arms outstretched, just like Zayn does in the ad for the One Direction fragrance Our Moment.”


“As a born and raised New Yorker, the city remains his first love—the perfect incubator for an actor who spends his free time writing R&B songs on the piano, producing his own house music, and nerdishly crafting elaborate models of Hobbits in the back room of a downtown comic shop.”

I think now of every war memorial I ever yawned through on a class trip, how someone else’s past horror was my vacant diversion and maybe I learned something but I didn’t feel anything. Everyone should have a museum dedicated to the worst day of their life and be forced to attend it with a bunch of tourists from Denmark. Annotated divorce papers blown up and mounted, interactive exhibits detailing how your mom’s last round of chemo didn’t take, souvenir T-shirts emblazoned with your best friend’s last words before the car crash. And you should have to see for yourself how little your pain matters to a family of five who need to get some food before the kids melt down. Or maybe worse, watch it be co-opted by people who want, for whatever reason, to feel that connection so acutely.

Gratuitous pics of my new bae Kit Harington:

My review of The Fault in Our Stars which I loved, because it fed my weird attraction to weepy character deaths. Also, this song:

This story literally crushes me — Lily Allen wrote this song about her little brother not having a job:

So he went off and got a sweet gig as THEON FUCKING GREYJOY (Reek?) on the sickest TV show ever, Game of Thrones:

“She needs me now but I can’t seem to find the time, I’ve got a new job now on the unemployment line.”

Leave a Reply

